top of page
  • Suhas J.

AMA with MDoor: Responses

Michael's answers are in, so I have the pleasure of sharing them to you. As always, thank you to everyone that participated and submitted questions, and a special thank you to Michael for participating in this AMA.

 

How has UT Austin helped your aviation career?

Definitely just by opening up doors and getting a ton of knowledge from the engineering side of things. Getting to learn from aerospace legends like Hans Mark (look him up...awesome man) is something you just can’t beat, so in the end it’s kind of like the difference between simply knowing what something is versus knowing what it is, exactly how it works, why it’s there, how it’s designed and built, etc. is incredibly valuable.


When is Luna receiving her 747 type rating?

She’s still working on it….paws make things a little tricky in the cockpit.

How did your football injury take place?

I took a helmet to the back in high school and bilaterally fractured my L-5 vertebrae. Sounds way worse than it actually was though since the fractures were very small. All good now though!

How has Infinite Flight impacted your real-world aviation career?

Honestly it’s just fun getting to fly different/challenging approaches (my DLVA ‘Tricky Tuesday’ people know this well), explore the world, and it’s a great tool for practicing and staying familiar with things like NDB approaches that aren’t as common these days. Whether I’m bored or traveling and want to stay entertained or practice something specific, I can just pick up my iPad and get flying!

What is your favorite moment from flying IRL?

Definitely has to be the first time I got to fly in for the Oshkosh Airshow in 2013. Back then I was still working for a flight school/aircraft distributor in Addison, Texas. We did all of the final assembly and sales in the Americas for the Czech Sport Aircraft SportCruiser, so we got to fly three of them up from Addison to Oshkosh in formation for our static display. It was pretty surreal getting to experience that massive line of planes and the infamous arrival procedures for the first time. I got the green dot for runway 27 with company traffic ahead on the white dot and a T-6 right behind on the orange dot. Certainly an experience I’ll never forget!

How did you discover IF?

First thing I did when I got my first iPad in 2012 was go to the app store to look for a flying sim, and the rest is history! Definitely makes me appreciate how far Infinite Flight has come, and it’s certainly been a fun/exciting ride!

When will Luna become VA Manager?

Maybe one day if she can figure out how to type with paws and speak english, but we’re all quite happy with MrMrMan in the meantime haha.

How did you become such a great DLVA staff member?

Must’ve been by accident haha. I guess I just enjoy getting to help out and teach people new things, and it’s really the people that make it all worth it!


What was the FAA’s reaction to Luna showing up for the PPL checkride?

Luckily Luna’s DPE was a golden retriever, so they got along pretty well!


What is your favorite aircraft to fly IRL?

Probably the Cirrus SR22T just because it’s quick and comfortable, but I still have a soft spot for the CSA SportCruiser since I’ve spent so much time working with those and they’re super fun/agile. It’s also fun just getting to rent different aircraft for a change of pace, so really I’m just happy if I’m flying anything!


How did Luna become the most legendary floof in DLVA?

Because she’s Luna!

Favorite GA brand besides the one you always fly?

I’m honestly not too picky. If it’ll fly and it’s maintained well, I’m a happy camper! That being said, you’ve gotta love the classics like Cessna and Piper. You just can’t go wrong there, and you have to respect the amazing legacy those brands have maintained.

How was it standing in the cold at 33 degrees in the pouring rain watching a fight because mwe talked you into working for him at a football game?

As a fellow Texan, I think you know it wasn’t exactly our ideal weather haha, but man what a crazy ending that was! Still not sure if my feet have felt the same since then though.


Is it true that Luna sabotaged the Squirrel campaign?

Luna’s ‘relationship’ with squirrels remains complex and intense. Let’s just say it’s pretty much DEFCON 1 for her nonstop.

Will we ever complete the M&M World Tour 3 in Africa?

Can’t believe we finally finished it. We blessed the rains!

Why does UT suck so bad at football?

Ugh, I knew you’d go there. Hey at least our mascot isn’t a frog, haha.

Why is TDV’s ATL AHM such an awesome person?

With a nickname like ‘Rocket Pants,’ he’s gotta be pretty awesome...even if he makes fun of UT football, married a Sooner, and had me stand in the freezing rain for like 4 hours lol.

Why are you a Door?

Because... reasons...

Did you ever figure out why @mwe2187 lost his engine on takeoff in MFS?

The world may never know...

What, in your eyes, makes DLVA one of a kind?

Just like with any VA, it’s gotta be the people. I’ve been able to make so many great friends through DLVA, and having a close-knit group of people to fly with always makes things fun. We like to keep the flying as professional as possible while still having our fair share of fun, and between the Skyteam partners and things like Delta Private Jets, we can go pretty much anywhere! My time at DLVA has definitely been a blast, and I wouldn’t leave the people there for anything!

What was your major?

Aerospace engineering and engineering mechanics! Hook ‘em!

Thanks to everyone for the questions and to the ‘V1, Rotate’ team for making this possible! Congrats to Infinite Flight on 10 great years, and cheers to the next 10!

 

Thanks for tuning in, folks. See you next time!

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page