top of page
  • Matt T.

Afraid of Flying in Controlled Airspaces?

A common issue I see with newcomers to Infinite Flight's expert server are pilots that are afraid of flying in controlled airspaces, especially the hub. This is completely understandable - I myself was once very hesitant of flying into airspaces with active ATC on the expert server. However, this doesn't have to be the case!


"Before I joined IFATC, I was anxious about flying on the expert server, as I’m not a real world pilot and don’t know many realistic procedures. The description of the expert server made it very intimidating to fly there. I love ATC so I decided to apply for IFATC. After I became IFATC, I found it very fun to fly on expert server and I felt more comfortable as I was learning along the way." -Bruce P. (Drummer), IFATC Trainer and Grade 5 Pilot

Joining IFATC the best way to develop your skills not only as a controller, but as a pilot, too. Through IFATC, I was able to learn the ropes of controlling and develop my skills as a pilot. I was once in your footsteps, new to the expert server and unable to communicate properly. I highly recommend trying out the IFATC process - it will be worth it in the long run.


But, what if you cannot join IFATC? There are always other resources for you. I would start with reading and understanding the Infinite Flight ATC Communication Guide. Once you have that understood, try it out at smaller, non-hub airports, and after your flight, connect with your controller using the Infinite Flight Community forum (all IFATC are required to have an account there, and we are always open to providing feedback!). If you still don't understand one thing or another, please ask!


It's all a learning process that takes time, effort, and patience. Even the best of the best make their mistakes from time to time. But, that's alright.


80 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Teamwork Aspect of IFATC

We've always thought about IFATC as just a place to control. However, the character development, in particular teamwork, is significant.

bottom of page