top of page
  • Matt T.

AMA with Gliding_Central: Responses

Joshua's answers are in, so I get to share them to you. As always, thank you to everyone that participated and submitted questions, and a special thank you to Joshua for participating in this AMA.

 

What's your favorite kind of cookie?

Chocolate chip cookies any day of the week! The only real cookie I believe.


What made you want to join IFATC?

To explore, gain experience, and to connect with the greater community of people. I have always loved expanding my knowledge and always wanted to know how controlling works.


How did you discover Infinite Flight?

I discovered Infinite Flight pre-global and bought it out of a pure interest in mobile flight simulation, not really realizing where the future of it would go.


What's your favorite aircraft?

It has to be the C152 at the moment! That is because it's the aircraft I soloed in for my PPL. It was definitely a crazy and exciting experience that I will just never forget.


Why did you start Spotting From The Control Tower?

Spotting From The Control Tower started for one reason, telling the stories that matter. We focus our passion for highlighting positives, providing leaning opportunities and bridging the gap between pilots and controllers. I have always wanted to bring people together, celebrating all of the hard work people do. Highlighting some of the controlling stories people have to offer as well.


What do you like to do outside of Infinite Flight?

Currently working towards my Private Pilot's License (PPL).


What is your favorite airport to control?

With the privilege of being able to fully staff this one airport, I would have to say Birmingham International Airport (EGBB), my home airport.


What's your favorite food?

Cookies, hehehe :)


After many months of sessions, for both tower and radar, you see your trainee pass the practical test. How do you describe the feeling?

This is a fantastic question! I still have the feeling of excitement and pure joy! I honestly am so very happy for every single one of my trainees that pass! The excitement is always there and has never felt any different.


How is to see a trainee fail a practical test?

It's definitely hard to see them fail for sure. However, it should always be seen as a way to come back fighting for your dreams.


How many cookies can you take each day?

949843223423424324324 - only kidding, but wish this was the case.


Would you like to control EGLL Ground/Tower/Approach/Departure/ATIS + London + Paris + Scottish Centers?

I always believe in quality over quantity, so no.


Would you like to be an IFATC Recruiter?

It’s definitely great to have goals, aspirations and ways wanting to push yourself for new positions. However, I solely believe that doing what you love is more important.


Do you like milk with your cookies?

Unfortunately I prefer a good hot chocolate to accompany my cookies as I'm not a fan of milk on it’s own.


How many IFATC training sessions do you do each day?

I do on average around 3 - 4 sessions a day. Two radar and two tower sessions! Where everyone of course gets some cookies.


What's your favorite color?

It definitely has to be blue!


Do you grease your landings often?

Sometimes, depends on the day.


Why choose Infinite Flight over other sims?

Hands down the community aspect. I love it here and the people I get to interact with each day during regular training sessions with.


Why is your accent so amazing?

Ahaha that's amazing, I personally don't think so but I guess it's a British thing?


Where does your cookie obsession stem from?

Passion for baking and the love of sharing them at my training sessions!

 

Well, that's it! Thanks again to Joshua and everyone that submitted questions, see you next time!

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page